This site has been created as a public service for our citizens and others who are interested in our operations. We sincerely hope you enjoy visiting our web site, and we welcome any comments you may have. Sheriff Robert S.
Under a new law that will go into effect next month Marcha greater number of people will be added to the Ohio sex offender registry. Sponsored by State Representative Tim Schaffer, a Republican from Lancaster, Ohio House Bill 92 HB 92 will force people who commit public indecency for sexual gratification when children will likely witness it to register as Tier 1 sex offenders. Tier 1 sex offenders must provide their photo, address, place of work, and other personal information to the authorities shortly after their conviction or release from detention.
The law exempts the information from public records requests, but that doesn't necessarily mean it will be kept from the public. So Ohio law enforcement officials are working out how they will handle questions of access. TNS — Butler County, Ohio, officials say a new statewide violent offender registry will eventually be a useful tool for law enforcement, but it would be even more helpful if the information were open to the public like the sex offender database.
InOhio enacted a sexual offender registration law. This law requires certain designated categories of convicted sex offenders to register with the Sheriff's Office in the county where they live. Some sex offenders who were convicted before are NOT legally required to register and others may fail to register as required by law. Furthermore, some convicted sex offenders may move into Ashland County from other states or counties and fail to register with our Office.
An adult or juvenile classified as a Tier I sex offender has been convicted of [adult] or found delinquent by reason of [juvenile] a sexually oriented offense; but has not been classified as either a Tier II or Tier III sex offender. Tier I sex offenders must register, once a year for 15 years, with the Sheriff of the County in which the offender lives, works and attends school. Also, whenever the registered sex offender changes residence.
Offenders classified after January 1, Tier 1 — Sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff at least once annually for a period of 15 years. In addition, must register any change of residential address, place of employment, or enrollment in a school or institution of higher education.
Derek Logue is a member of one of the few groups it is socially acceptable for people to openly hate. He knows online comments on this story will likely refer to him in the most vulgar terms, and no one will come to his defense. But Logue said people like him are being unfairly discriminated against, and he thinks something should be done about it.
Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about. Offenders who are convicted prior to January 1, are subject to classification under Megan's Law. These classifications require the following from offenders:.
The Wayne County Sheriff's Office makes every effort to update sex offender information on a daily basis. However, offenders may have moved and failed to notify the Wayne County Sheriff's Office as required by law. Therefore, due to the fact that this information is continually changing, the Wayne County Sheriff's Office makes no expressed or implied guarantee concerning the accuracy of this information.